Houston Chronicle

John McClain to be inducted into Texas Sports Hall of Fame

June 06, 2019 - 12:32 pm

HOUSTON (SportsRadio 610) - For the first time since 2004, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame selected eight media members to be inducted into their Hall of Fame in Waco, Texas. SportsRadio 610's Houston Texans insider, John McClain, is among those who will be honored later this year by the Hall of Fame.

“I am humbled by and appreciative of this incredible honor,” McClain said in an interview with his employer, the Houston Chronicle. “Growing up in Waco as a fan of Baylor, the Southwest Conference, the Astros and Cowboys, listening to Frank Fallon and reading Dave Campbell, to think that I will be enshrined with them is just unfathomable.

Watch NFL games now on fuboTV.

The Eight Media Inductees:
•    John McClain the Houston Chronicle sportswriter who has been a longtime contributor to radio sports talk shows on KTRH (740 AM) and KILT (610 AM) and regularly appears on other stations throughout the country
•    Charean Williams, a former writer with the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and Bryan Eagle who now works for NBC Sports’ Pro Football Talk and, like McClain, a recipient of the Dick McCann Award from the Pro Football Hall of Fame
•    Randy Galloway, a former writer and columnist with The Dallas Morning News and Fort Worth Star-Telegram and radio talk show host for WBAP-AM and KESN-FM in Dallas-Fort Worth
•    Denne Freeman, the longtime Texas sports editor for the Associated Press
•    Brad Sham, the longtime radio play-by-play announcer for the Dallas Cowboys who recently had the press box at AT&T stadium renamed in his honor
•    Eric Nadel, the Texas Rangers’ radio-by-play voice and a recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award from the Baseball Hall of Fame 
•    Bill Mercer, the former radio voice of the Cowboys, Dallas Texans, Rangers and Chicago White Sox and a longtime teacher at the University of North Texas
•    The late Frank Glieber, who was sports director at KRLD-AM in Dallas, a Cowboys radio announcer and a golf and football announcer for CBS Sports

The group will be honored at a time and place to be determined. They join the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s inaugural media honorees, a group that included Dan Jenkins, Blackie Sherrod, Dave Campbell, Mickey Herskowitz, Verne Lundquist, Jack Dale, Kern Tips and Frank Fallon.